Flavia Milleotto voltage regulator

CD's with workshop manuals, parts book and other documentation New: electronic distributor
Vegard

Flavia Milleotto voltage regulator

Unread post by Vegard »

Hi,

I recently bought a 67 Flavia Milleotto Berlina, and I have found some issues that need bit attention. The former owner have replaced the original generator with a modern style generator. I assume the old generator was a DC unit with an external voltage regulator, but the new one have an internal regulator. My problem is that reading from the ampermeter the battery doesn't get charged. I read a few A (ca. -5 to +5, depending on the revs) when the engine is running without any electrical devices switched on, but sometimes I see/hear the generator kicking in, giving 35+A.

I am no expert when it comes to car electrics of this age, but my thoughts are that the generator has been changed without removing the old voltage regulator. Could this be a logical explanation for my problem? If so, is the voltage regulator the unit I have circled on the first picture? The second picture is a close up of the unit. Should I remove this unit, and join the two biggest red wires?

I hope I can find some help here, for this rather rare beauty. The last thing I want to do is harm the old lady, so I want to make sure I don't do anything wrong.

Kind regards,
Vegard
Attachments
flavia 2.jpg
flavia 2.jpg (56.12 KiB) Viewed 4300 times
flavia.jpg
flavia.jpg (152.19 KiB) Viewed 4300 times
grifo63

Re: Flavia Milleotto voltage regulator

Unread post by grifo63 »

I have got a 1961 Flavia so I don't know how much had been changed on the 1967 model; however for sure my one has a DC generator managed by a Magneti Marelli regulator which works by a nice mix of three magnetic coils for voltage monitoring and DC generator bias , limiting and reverse current protection.