Window winder cable

CD's with workshop manuals, parts book and other documentation New: electronic distributor
Michael Findlay

Window winder cable

Unread post by Michael Findlay »

I assume others have done this job in the past as this system was designed to fail. Flavia Coupe windows will not go up and down due to snapped and frayed winder cables. I have removed all the twisted remains and pulled them straight to use as a guide to cut the next length of cable and I am guessing that they pass around the capstan for two complete turns per side, more or less meeting in the middle. Can anyone confirm this before I fix the two halves of the winder mechanism in place?

Cheers

Michael Findlay
Port Chalmers NZ

Lancia Flavia Pininfarina 1800 Coupe (going back together slowly before repaint)
flavia1800

Re: Window winder cable

Unread post by flavia1800 »

I have no experience in replacing the cable, but I assume your guess should be right.
But wouldn't it be more easy if you look for new ones? Fiat at the time used almost the same winders. Have a look at ebay.it and look after 'meccansimo alzocristalli fiat' and you will find some. The only thing you might have to change are the studs which might have a slight different position.

regards
Gunther
Belgium
Michael Findlay

Unread post by Michael Findlay »