Cam timing

CD's with documentationElectronic distributor
ZanettiZA

Cam timing

Unread post by ZanettiZA »

Hi everyone, I am looking for some advice on correctly setting up the cam timing, I have a 302 head with vernier cams.
I have read much about the 2.2mm method and understand that this is the best method, but when I set the cams up according to the markings and turned the engine over back to TDC (exhaust) the engine seemed to have correct overlap whereas with the 2.2mm method it did not. The only thing I can think is that I am doing something wrong.

So my question is, could some explain the procedure from beginning to end, as if the cams have just been reinstalled and all the tappets are relaxed...

Thanks
Peter

Re: Cam timing

Unread post by Peter »

I'm by no means an expert, but since no-one else has picked this up, here's my understanding:

The 2.2 mm method is based on the timing spec given in the Technical Data sheets. This states that for a valve clearance setting of 2.2 mm, the exhaust valve is just closing and the intake valve is just opening when #1 cylinder is at TDC at the end of the exhaust stroke. At this point in the cycle, the firing cylinder will be #4, and on that cylinder both valves will be fully closed.

So there are 2 ways to check the timing. The first method is to set the valve clearance on #1 to 2.2 mm, then observe that the intake and exhaust valves are just opening and closing as stated above. This can be done with a dial gauge. The second method is to set normal running clearances, and observe that the intake and exhaust valves are open to the extent of 2.2 mm at TDC. Again this can be done with a dial gauge.